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Vice-President’s Message
Sitting on the Ohio Veterinary
Medical Licensing Board is a
privilege, and work, but it is
especially a real education.
Not only do you learn a lot,
you also find yourself chang-
ing the way you do things at
your practice—sometimes on a
monthly basis (i.e. after every
board meeting)! Below is a
short list of some of the com-
mon pitfalls that may cause
licensees to get personal corre-
spondence from the OVMLB
which probably results in poor
sleep as well.
Tips for Success AKA Not
Getting to Know the
OVMLB More Than You
Desire
1. Medical Records (You can’t
be too thorough!). Some of
these tips are by Rule 4741-1-
21 OAC and some are by sug-
gestion to improve care and
communication.)
RECORD
e Your PE findings
e Drug dosages and routes
of administration
e Advice/treatment options
given to owner(s). This
helps decipher the all too
frequent “he said, she
said” conundrum when the

Board is wading through
medical records that have
been submitted in response
to a complaint.

e C(lient communications.
Consider doing so in any
detail necessary, but espe-
cially when there is disa-
greement/refusal/
confusion regarding diag-
nostic/treatment options or
care recommendations.

e Anesthetic monitoring.

2. Compliance Inspections

Review the Compliance in-

spection form on the website

under compliance inspections.

may sound onerous, but it is
important not only in the event
of a complaint being filed, but
to ensure that your practice is
in compliance. ORC Sections
that are important are:

e 4741.04 Veterinary-Client
-Patient Relationship.
This will be especially
important once the Board
starts to tackle the Tele-
medicine issues.

o 4741.19 Deals with the
practice without a License
prohibited; students; tech-
nicians and specialists.

e 474130 Deals with the

Consider doing your own in-
spection so there won’t be any
surprises.

e Expired drugs are a com-
mon finding in Cis. Have
a system in place to inven-
tory regularly and dispose
of expired drugs according
to Ohio Board of Pharma-
cy guidelines.

e Personnel duties: Print off
the list of RVT/Animal
Aide duties and make sure
all DVMs in the practice
are familiar with it.

3. Review the Veterinary Med-

ical Practice Act Law and

Rules (Chapter 4741) found on

the Board’s web site. This

Disposition of Abandoned
Animals.

OAC Sections (Rules):

o 4741-1-03 sets the mini-
mum standards for station-
ary veterinary facilities.

e 4741-1-08 sets the mobile
veterinary practice require-
ments.

o 4741-1-13 deals with the
Livestock Animal Practic-
es

e 4741-1-21 sets the Record
keeping requirements.

We hope this is useful and

helpful information and may

improve your knowledge and
quality of practice.

nial renewal.

Amended Continuing Education Rule 4741-1-11 OAC

Rule 4741-1-11 OAC was amended to eliminate the requirement for online veterinary continu-
ing education courses to be in real-time to count towards the scientific portion of the mandatory
continuing education (CE) hours for renewal. However, the rule implemented limitations on
the number of hours of internet courses that can be utilized toward the renewal mandates.
simple terms, no more than 6 hours of internet courses may be obtained towards the renewal
CE requirement for a biennium. And of those 6 hours, no more than 2 hours may be non-
scientific. i.e The licensee may have all 6 hours of online CE in scientific hours or 4 online CE
hours scientific and 2 CE hours on non-scientific issues. Please review the rule carefully. The
CE requirement will begin with the RVT renewal in 2019. http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-11v2

In

The Board members are currently reviewing concerns submitted regarding the rule which may
require further revisions to the rule. Please check the web site regularly for updates.

Reminder: In an emergency situation, a licensee may request a written “one-lifetime” waiver
from CE during renewal. However, the hours must be made up and submitted at the next bien-



http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-21v2
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-21v2
http://www.ovmlb.ohio.gov/compliance.stm
http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Pubs/Special.aspx
http://www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/Pubs/Special.aspx
http://www.ovmlb.ohio.gov/pubs/permissible%20activities%20list%20techs%20-%20aides.pdf
http://www.ovmlb.ohio.gov/pubs/permissible%20activities%20list%20techs%20-%20aides.pdf
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4741.04v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4741.19v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4741.30v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-03v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-08v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-13v1
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-21v2
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4741-1-11v2

MEDICAL RECORD RULE 4741-1-21 OAC

The Medical Record rule was modified to clarify what needed to be documented in the medical record. Rule 4741-1-21

Ohio Administrative Code (OAC ) can be found on the Board’s web site under Law and Rules.

Rule 4741-1-21 OAC

A. A veterinarian performing a physical examination, diagnosis, treatment or surgery on an animal or group of animals shall pre-
pare a written record or computer record concerning the animals containing, at a minimum, the following information:

. Name, address, and telephone number of owner;

. Identity of the animal, herd, or flock

. Except for herds or flocks, the age, sex, color, and breed;

. Dates of examination, treatment and surgery;

. Brief history of the condition of each animal, litter, herd, or flock;

. Examination findings;

. Laboratory and radiographic tests performed and reports;

. Differential diagnosis;

. Procedures performed/treatment given and results;

. Drugs (and their dosages) administered, dispensed, or prescribed;

. Surgical procedures shall include a description of the procedure, the name of the surgeon, the type of sedative/anesthetic
agent used, the route of administration and the dosage; and

12. Anesthesia monitoring performed during surgical procedures.
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B. Individual records must be maintained on each patient, except that records on livestock or litters of animals may be maintained
on a per-client basis.

C. Medical records and radiographs are the physical property of the hospital or the proprietor of the practice that prepared them.
Records, including radiographs, must be maintained for a minimum of three years after the last visit.

D. Medical records shall be released, upon request, from a treating veterinarian to another treating veterinarian, and shall be re-
turned to the originating practice within a reasonable time, if requested. Copies of records must be made available upon re-
quest from the owner of an animal at a reasonable cost to the owner.

E. All regulated substances shall be recorded as required by federal and/or state regulations.
Effective September 1, 2017

Name Changes in the New System name of the licensee);
2. Copy of marriage certificate;
After April, 2018, name changes may be initiated through 3. Divorce or dissolution decree indicating the current

the Online Service Request or can still be submitted in name of the licensee/applicant;

paper format with the form found on the Board’s web 4. Probate or other court order approving a legal name
site. change;

With the completed online or written form, one of the 5. U.S. Immigration and Citizenship Services issued
following forms of documentation must be uploaded or Green Card (Note: the copy of the Green Card must
submitted with the paper form: clearly show the picture and name of the licensee).

1. Copy of Valid Driver’s License or State Identifica-
tion Card with the new name (Note: the copy of the Licensees unable to provide one of the above forms of
driver’s license must clearly show the picture and documentation cannot effect a name change.

Veterinary Student Loan Program

The student loan program was developed to provide large animal veterinary services or protect public health in veteri-
nary resource shortage areas. $10.00 of each veterinary license renewal fee is deposited in the loan repayment fund.
In May, 2017, the Board awarded $10,000 each to Dr. Austin Clark of Ashland and Dr. Charles Robison of Dresden
for a service commitment of one year. The Board awarded $6,000 to Dr. Alissa Wilhelm of Milton Center for a sec-
ond year commitment. Applications for 2017 can be found on the Board’s web site and are due by May st to the
Board office.




Renewals— Emails a requirement for renewals

Veterinary licenses expire on March 1, 2018. Which means that any licensee, according to the Veterinary
Practice Act, who is practicing on an expired license is in violation of the law. Late fees are assessed one
month after the expiration date and a stiffer penalty is applied after two months of expiration. Renewal infor-
mation will be mailed in January 2018.

Please provide any changes of address in writing to the Board office by email, fax or via mail ASAP to make
sure that you receive your renewal information in a timely manner. Renewal information with username and
password will be mailed out the first week of January, 2018. Please note: An Email address is required to be
submitted to the Board when renewing. A new licensing system is being implemented in April 2018 in
which all renewal information and notifications will be provided by email only. Instructions will be included
on the Board’s web site prior to implementation.

For this renewal cycle only, all renewals will be online except in limited circumstances. The licensee must
request a paper application if they have disciplinary or criminal action. As a reminder, the name of the licen-
see must be on the check submitted if renewing by mail. This reminder is especially important for those vet-
erinary entities that submit a “group” check for their employees. Unfortunately, the current Continuing Edu-
cation reporting section remains difficult until the new E-licensing system. You may submit your CE via
email or fax, but you will need to make a notation when renewing that you are sending the CE separately.
Your license will not be renewed until the renewal application is complete.

When renewing online, remember to only hit the submit button once and DO NOT hit the “back™ button.
Every time that you hit the back button, your credit card is charged. If you accidently get charged more than
once, the Board tries to catch it and credit your account within 24-48 hours. However, if a double billing ap-
pears on your statement, let the Board staff know promptly. Please note: The Board staff do not provide
receipts for renewal fees paid. Your cancelled check or credit card invoice is your receipt. An email should
be received upon online payment via credit card. Keep a copy for your records.

Active Military personnel cannot renew online at this time, but will be able to renew once the new system is
in place (after April 23, 2018). Since the renewal fee is waived, active military personnel can renew by sub-
mitting a renewal form and CE via email, fax, or US postal mail. Email joseph.mcclain@ovmlb.state.oh.us
for a renewal form if you are on active duty in the US Armed Forces, the Ohio National Guard or Military
Reserve. The renewal form will also be available on the Board web site under “Forms” until April 2018.

Please note that paper applications will not be accepted by the Board after April 2, 2018. The old and
new systems will be down for extended periods of time during the month of April. Prior to the conver-
sion, you will receive eLicense log in information (including a security code) from the Board. Once you log
in to eLicense for the first time, you will be asked to enter the following information: Email Address (the
one on file with the Board), Security code, Social Security Number, and Date of Birth. There will also be
detailed instructions on the Board’s web site.

- ________________________________________________________________________________________|

Transaction Fee

When passing the state’s budget bill on June 30, 2017, the Ohio Legislature authorized by a law a $3.50
transaction charge for all users of the state’s Ohio eLicense system. Therefore, when the Board transitions to
the new system (anticipated date April 23, 2018) there will be an additional $3.50 charge to cover the costs
associated with the state being able to maintain a secure Ohio eLicense system for license information. The
transaction fee will be charged for ALL new and renewal of licenses after April 10, 2018. If a paper applica-
tion is submitted to the Board during April or after, it must include the $3.50 fee.
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Rule changes as a result of the New Licensing System

As a result of transitioning to the new Department of Administrative Services Licensing System, the small license reg-
istrations that the current system prints out will no longer be available. Therefore, the Board has proposed to amend
certain rules which eliminate the requirement to post the certificates for the public to view and also allows the Board to
email the renewal applications to licensees. The new system has an enhanced license verification site that will be
more informative and efficient for an employer to check the status of a license or the public to view the status of a li-
cense.

The Rules that are being modified to implement the new licensing system are:
Rule(s) 4741-1-02, 4741-1-03, 4741-1-08, 4741-1-11, 4741-1-20 of the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC)

One rule is being modified to mirror the Ohio Department of Agriculture’s prohibition of allowing unlicensed individ-
uals to perform tail docking of a dairy cow. Rule 4741-1-13 OAC would prohibit a livestock owner’s agent from tail
docking of dairy cows. Only a veterinarian can perform that service.

Netice:
Licensees will no longer receive a small certificate upon initial licensure or upon renewal of licensure. You will
receive an email validating your license/renewal which you should maintain for your records. But it is not nec-
essary to display. Veterinarians will still receive a wall certificate upon initial licensure. RVTs will receive an
email with the smaller wall certificate enclosed and available for printing out.

Employers can validate a license through the Licensure Verification port on the Board’s web site. The Licen-
sure Verification will now have the initial licensure date as well as disciplinary action.

Please submit the email address that you wish to receive correspondence from the Board to
info@ovmlb.state.oh.us.

A few pointers for the new ELicensing system:

e The new system does not work well in Explorer. Google Chrome, Safari or Firefox are recommended.

e You will need to have all of your documents available ( i.e transcripts, court documents, military active duty forms)
to upload onto your computer so that they can be submitted into the system.

e Ifyou begin to enter data, and need to leave the system, you can save the data and return to complete.

¢ Your application will not be submitted to the Board office until payment is made via VISA or MasterCard only. If
you do not have a charge card, you can obtain a pre-paid payment card but make sure you have added the $3.50
transaction fee to the pre-paid Visa card.

e You will have three options to submit continuing education: write it out, upload a document, or email to the Board.

e You can change your address in the system at any time.

e Computers are necessary to transact with the licensing system and complete the renewal of your Board license.
Computers are available at local libraries, Senior Citizen Centers, and Community Centers. For initial licenses, you
must be able to upload documents. The only document that will not be uploaded is the Criminal Background Check
results which come directly to the Board from BCILI.

¢ You can request another wall certificate through the Options link of the new system.

¢ You can request a Letter of Good Standing through the Options link of the new system.

e If you have forgotten your password, you can obtain through the system.

e Please note that the system will lock you out for 30 minutes if you attempt to log in after three unsuccessful at-
tempts.

The Board continues to be committed and invested in ways that provide the best public protection and customer service
possible. Thank you for your anticipated patience and cooperation as we transition to the new comprehensive profes-
sional regulatory license system. Please continue to visit the Board web site for updates.
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News you will find on the Ohio Board of Pharmacy web site:
A

e In June, 2017. the BOP updated their Guidelines for the Terminal Distributor Licensing of Prescriber Practices.

o Effective in 2017, terminal distributor of dangerous drugs prohibits dispensing or selling more than a 90-day sup-
ply of an opioid analgesic. The 90-day supply provision applies to veterinarians who may also personally furnish
more than a 72-hour supply of opioid analgesics from their offices. The law also applies to cough syrups contain-
ing codeine or hydrocodone.

e From the July E-News Update, Terminal Distributor licenses must renew by March 31st. Terminal and wholesale
distributors that have discontinued business operations must file a written notice of discontinuing business form
with the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to rule 4729-9-07 of the Ohio Administrative Code. The form can be ac-
cessed on the terminal distributor licensing section of the Board’s website.

e Rule 4729-5-30 OAC, entitled Manner of issuance of a prescription, was amended to permit a pharmacist to modi-
fy a prescription after consultation with the prescriber.

e Just a reminder that Pharmacy Technicians can only perform duties under the direction of a Pharmacist. (See
4729.91 ORC)

e The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy recently released guidance regarding the new acute pain opioid prescribing
rules. NOTE: Veterinarians are exempted from the rules. The limits and diagnosis codes do not apply to veteri-
narians. (Please view (www.pharmacy.ohio.gov/AcuteLimits)

FDA Warns of Illnesses and Deaths in Pets Exposed to Fluorouracil (excerpt from the August edition of the
State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy Newsletter)

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is alerting pharmacists that patients’ pets are at risk of illness and death when
exposed to the topical cancer medication fluorouracil cream USP 5% (5-FU) that is intended for use in people. Fluor-
ouracil may also be marketed under the brand names Carac®, Efudex®, andFluoroplex®. Very small amounts could
be dangerous to household pets; thus, owners should use care when applying and storing the medication. FDA has
received reports of five dogs that became ill and died after accidentally ingesting the topical cream, notes a Center for
Veterinary  Medicine  Update  available at  www.fda.gov/A nimalV eterinary/NewsEvents/DV M Updates/
ucm537434. htm.

Although FDA has not received any reports involving cats to date, cats are also expected to be extremely sensitive to
fluorouracil cream. For instance, if an owner applies fluorouracil cream to an afflicted area and touches his or her cat,
the cat may accidentally ingest the medication when grooming itself and suffer adverse events.

FDA advises that pharmacists who fill these prescriptions should advise patients with pets to prevent exposing their
pet to the medication. Adverse events may be reported to FDA using the Form FDA 1932a, which may be obtained at
www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/SafetyHealth/ReportaProblem/ucm055305. htm.

-
OARRS and the Veterinarian

The Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System (OARRS) is a tool to track the dispensing and personal furnishing of con-
trolled prescription drugs to patients. OARRS is designed to monitor this information for suspected abuse or diversion
(i-e., channeling drugs into illegal use), and can give a prescriber or pharmacist critical information regarding a pa-
tient’s (or owner’s) controlled substance prescription history. This information can help prescribers and pharmacists
identify high-risk patient owners who would benefit from early interventions. Participation in OARRS is voluntary for
veterinarians, but highly recommended. More information can be found at: https://www.ohiopmp.gov/Portal/
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